

December 6, 2010

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.

Mitsui Chemicals to Host "The Fifth Mitsui Chemicals International Symposium on Catalysis Science (MICS2011)"

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. ("MCI") hereby announces it will host The Fifth Mitsui Chemicals International Symposium on Catalysis Science (MICS2011).

With the aim of providing a common platform for intellectual exchange to scientific talents from around the world and the creation of new knowledge, "MICS2011" will be held on March 9 and 10, 2011 to provide a forum for discourse on catalysis science contributing to advancements for an affluent society through the creation of high-performance materials and substances. The Nobel Prize Laureates in Chemistry, Professor Yuan T. Lee (Academia Sinica in Taiwan) and Professor Sir John E. Walker (Medical Research Council) are scheduled to deliver the plenary lectures. In addition, the symposium will also have two special lectures by the 2010 Nobel Prize Laureates in Chemistry, Emeritus Professor Akira Suzuki (Hokkaido University, Japan) and Professor Ei-ichi Negishi (Purdue University, U.S.A).

Details

1. Theme: Catalysis Science and Its Contribution to Sustainable Development

2. Date: March, 9-10, 2011

3. Venue: Kazusa Akademia Hall (Kisarazu, Chiba Prefecture, Japan)

Please see Appendix for detailed schedule. 4. Lectures:

Plenary Lectures

Prof. Yuan T. Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

The 1986 Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry

Prof. Sir John E. Walker (Medical Research Council, U.K.)

The 1997 Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry

Special Lectures

The 2010 Nobel Prize Laureates in Chemistry

Emeritus Prof. Akira Suzuki (Hokkaido University, Japan)

Prof. Ei-ichi Negishi (Purdue University, U.S.A.)

Invited Lectures

Prof. John E. Bercaw (California Institute of Technology, U.S.A.)

Prof. Craig J. Hawker (University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A.)

Prof. Kazunari Domen (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Prof. Kenichiro Itami (Nagoya University, Japan)

Prof. Ei-ichi Nakamura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Prof. Mitsuo Sawamoto (Kyoto University, Japan)

Dr. Haruyuki Makio (Mitsui Chemicals, Inc., Japan.)

The Award Ceremony and Commemorative Lectures

The award ceremony will be held for the winners of the 2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award, and commemorative lectures by the winners will be presented.

- 1) The Winner of the "2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award"
- 2) The Winners of the "2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award

of Encouragement"

5. Registration: Please refer to the MCI's WEB-site.

MCI plays a leading role in the field of catalysis science. MCI continuously works on leading-edge catalyst development by utilizing its long-standing scientific network in catalysis science contributing to advancements in affluent society through the creation of high-performance materials and substances.

Program of "The Fifth Mitsui Chemicals International Symposium on Catalysis Science (MICS2011)"

2011/3/9 (Wed.)

10:00	Opening Ceremony
~	
10:10	
10:10	<plenary lecture1="">The 1986 Nobel Prize Laureate</plenary>
~	Prof. Yuan T. Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
11:00	"Dynamics of Chemical Reactions and Photochemical Processes"
11:00	<invited lecture1=""></invited>
~	Prof. John E. Bercaw (California Institute of Technology, U.S.A.)
11:50	"Hydrocarbon Upgrading to Fuels and Chemicals: Progress towards Homogeneous Catalysts"
13:20	<special lecture1="">The 2010 Nobel Prize Laureate</special>
~	Emeritus Prof. Akira Suzuki (Hokkaido University, Japan)
14:10	· · · · · ·
14:10	<invited lecture2=""></invited>
~	Prof. Kazunari Domen (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
15:00	"Water Splitting on Heterogeneous Photocatalysts"
15:00	<invited lecture3=""></invited>
~	Prof. Kenichiro Itami (Nagoya University, Japan)
15:50	"Challenges in Arene Assembling Chemistry"
16:10	Ceremony and Award Lectures
~	The Winner of the "2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award"
17:40	The Winners of the "2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award of
	Encouragement"

2011/3/10 (Thur.)

	57 10 (111a)
10:00	<plenary lecture2="">The 1997 Nobel Prize Laureate</plenary>
~	Prof. Sir John E. Walker (Medical Research Council, U.K.)
10:50	"The Structure and Mechanism of ATP Synthase"
10:50	<invited lecture4=""></invited>
~	Prof. Eiichi Nakamura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
11:40	"The Wonderful World of Organic Chemistry"
13:10	<special lecture2="">The 2010 Nobel Prize Laureate</special>
~	Prof. Ei-ichi Negishi (Purdue University, U.S.A.)
14:00	
14:00	<invited lecture5=""></invited>
~	Prof. Craig J. Hawker (University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A.)
14:50	"Applications of Orthogonal, "Click" Chemistries in the Synthesis of Functional Soft Materials"
15:10	<invited lecture6=""></invited>
~	Dr. Haruyuki Makio (Mitsui Chemicals, Inc., Japan)
16:00	"Phenoxy-Imine Ligand as a Basis of the Highly Active and Selective Industrial Catalysts: Principles and Practice"
16:00	<invited lecture7=""></invited>
~	Prof. Mitsuo Sawamoto (Kyoto University, Japan)
16:50	"Precision Radical Polymerization with Transition-Metal Catalysis: A Bridge between Polymer Chemistry and Catalysis Science"
16:50	Closing Ceremony
~	
17:00	

