Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. has established the “Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Awards” since 2004 with the aim of contributing to the sustainable development of chemistry and the chemical industry. In particular, this award is designed to recognize researchers who have made outstanding achievements in catalysis science.

2022 Winners Archive

Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. announced the winners of the "2022 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award" and the "2022 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award for Creative Work".

The winners of the awards are as follows:

*Assignments and positions are those at the time of receipt of awards.

2022 Winners

The Winner of the “Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award”

Frank Glorius

Melanie S. Sanford

University of Michigan

“Developing late transition metal catalyzed reactions for carbon-carbon and carbon-heteroatom bond formation”

Dr. Melanie S. Sanford has developed late transition metal catalysts for C-H functionalization reactions. She is a pioneer and has had a major impact on research in her field. She has also developed palladium and copper catalysts for fluorination and radiofluorination reactions, and written seminal studies of their mechanisms. She also developed Pd and Ni catalysts for base-free decarbonylative cross-coupling reactions. Alternative to aryl halides, carboxylic acids and their derivatives have been used as electrophiles in the reactions. She has contributed greatly to the development of catalysis science.

The Winners of the "Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award for Creative Work"

Matteo Cargnello

Todd K. Hyster

Associate Professor
Cornell University

“Photoenzymatic catalysis in organic synthesis”

Dr. Todd K. Hyster has developed a new biocatalytic method to achieve highly efficient radical asymmetric synthesis by combining visible light activation of cofactors at the active site of enzymes, opening a new field that combines organic and biological chemistry. He has recently succeeded in asymmetric intra- and inter-molecular C-C bond coupling, thereby expanding the versatility of the methodology he has developed. His developments are expected to bolster environmentally friendly manufacturing processes of fine chemicals using enzymes.

Takanori Iwasaki

Robert J. Phipps

Associate Professor
University of Cambridge

“Development of novel strategies for selectivity control in catalytic reactions”

Dr. Robert J. Phipps has developed meta- and para-selective C-H activation and cross-coupling reactions, as well as asymmetric C-H activation reactions, by a reaction design based on an ion pairing interaction between transition metal catalysts and substrates. Furthermore, the ion pairing strategy was successfully applied to enantiocontrol of radical reactions, demonstrating its synthetic utility.

Award lectures

Award lectures will be held at CSJ Festa on October 19, 2022.